Back
to website

The Volksoper Wien is more than just the former temporary home of the famous Vienna State Opera. It might have taken it a while, but today the Volksoper has established itself as the world’s premier house for operettas.

Volksoper Wien — Home of the Operetta

The Volksoper Wien is more than just the former temporary home of the famous Vienna State Opera. It might have taken it a while, but today the Volksoper has established itself as the world’s premier house for operettas.

The Volksoper Wien (which translates to Vienna People’s Opera) has experienced quite a bit of back and forth in its more than 100 years of existence. It’s been renamed numerous times and has, in turn, functioned as a theatre, an opera house and even as a cinema. But the Volksoper’s true love has always been the operetta, a much-undervalued genre of musical theatre.

The hard beginnings of the Vienna People’s Opera  

Volksoper Wien was founded in 1898 with the name “Kaiserjubiläums-Stadttheater” in honour of the emperor’s 50-year jubilee. Unfortunately, emperor Franz Joseph I. didn’t attend the opening, as he was still grieving for his murdered wife Sisi. It’s almost as if the theatre didn’t quite start off on the right foot.

Originally, the new theatre was meant as a place for spoken theatre. But then Rainer Simons, who became the theatre’s director in 1903, started adding “opera plays” to the repertoire, and the public liked it. The theatre started using the name “Volksoper” in 1908 and saw premieres like Puccini’s “Tosca” (1907) and Richard Strauss’ “Salome” (1910).

Establishing an identity through the years

During inflation, the Vienna People’s Opera began to struggle financially. After various attempts at saving it, the opera was reopened in 1929 under a new name: The “New Vienna Theatre”. Part of the repertoire were again “easy” operettas.

In the course of the second world war, the opera house was once again renamed multiple times. Towards the end of the war, it was even used as Vienna’s second largest cinema for a few months. After the war and up until 1955 the Vienna People’s Opera famously became the temporary home for the Vienna State Opera.

In 1955 Volksoper Wien finally became an independent theatre again, putting on operas, operettas and musicals. However, it still took a while though until the Volksoper could establish itself as the leading operetta house of the world.

The world’s premiere house for operettas

Volksoper Wien definitely hasn’t had an easy time finding its identity. The frequent renamings, strategic changes, misappropriations and changes in the directorate have certainly hampered its growth. And then there’s the constant comparison to the famous Vienna State Opera.

Nonetheless, the Vienna People’s Opera has managed to establish itself not just as Vienna’s second biggest opera house, but as the world’s leading house for operettas.

This position likely wouldn’t be possible if it hadn’t been for Robert Meyer. The well-known actor, held in high regard by the Austrian public, took over as the People Opera’s director in 2007 and immediately began to work on reform.

Meyer put an emphasis on raising the value of the operetta and within his first year, he managed to win back the public and raise revenues. It certainly helps that occasionally, Robert Meyer takes the stage himself to take part in one of the plays.

A varied programme for all ages

Every season, the People’s Opera puts on about 300 performances of around 35 different productions. Of course, the main genre remains the operetta, but the repertoire includes operas, musicals and ballet performances as well, and even cabaret performances and parodies.

The variety of the repertoire is almost unparalleled. You could easily go to see Mozart’s opera “The Magic Flute” one day and the musical “The Sound of Music” the next. And on new year’s eve and new year’s day, the traditional performance — in front of an often raucous audience — is that of Strauss’ operetta “Die Fledermaus”.

The People’s Opera offers various subscription models and “cycles”, including one with a discount for families. There’s also a subscription for young people under 27 and a variety of offers for kids. From discounted tickets to kid-friendly performances like “The Wizard of Oz” and “Hansel and Gretel“. From children’s workshops to interactive performances.

Kids can even join the Volksoper children’s choir and end up performing on the very stage they have been watching others perform on. There’s a varied programme for schools as well, where they can attend rehearsals and have a look backstage.

Both tourists and Viennese locals have caught on that Vienna has quality musical theatre to offer aside from the grand Vienna State Opera. The Volksoper Wien keeps proving that again and again.

© Dimo Dimov/Volksoper Wien
© Dimo Dimov/Volksoper Wien
Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Vienna
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Or give us a call!

Exclusive
bookable on

 airbnb 

Subscribe now and get
10 % Discount
on your next booking!

Zurück
zur Website

Die Volksoper Wien ist weit mehr als nur das ehemalige Ausweichquartier der Staatsoper. Nach einer langen und schwierigen Identitätsfindung hat sich das Haus am Alsergrund heute als größtes Operettenhaus der Welt etabliert.

Volksoper in Wien – wo die Operette daheim ist

Die Volksoper Wien ist weit mehr als nur das ehemalige Ausweichquartier der Staatsoper. Nach einer langen und schwierigen Identitätsfindung hat sich das Haus am Alsergrund heute als größtes Operettenhaus der Welt etabliert.

In ihrer über 100 Jahre alten Geschichte hat die Volksoper Wien viel Hin und Her erlebt. Sie wurde mehrmals umbenannt und fungierte im Laufe der Zeit als Theater, Opernhaus und sogar als Kino. Ihre wahre Liebe galt und gilt jedoch der Operette, einer von der Hochkultur oft stark unterschätzten Sparte des Musiktheaters.

Die schwierigen Anfänge der Volksoper Wien

Gegründet wurde die Volksoper 1898 als Kaiserjubiläums-Stadttheater zum 50-jährigen Regierungsjubiläum des Kaisers Franz Joseph I — die Eröffnung fand allerdings ohne Anwesenheit des Kaisers statt, der nach dem Mord an seiner Gattin Sisi tief in Trauer war. Man könnte fast glauben, das Theater stand zu Beginn unter keinem guten Stern.

Ursprünglich war das Theater als Haus für Sprechtheater geplant. 1903 übernahm jedoch Rainer Simons die Direktion und setzte mit der Aufführung von Spielopern erste Schritte in Richtung Musiktheater. Das kam beim Publikum gut an und das Haus wurde ab 1908 als Volksoper geführt. Die Volksoper erlebte auch mehrere Wiener Erstaufführungen, darunter Puccinis „Tosca“ (1907) und Richard Strauss’ „Salome“ (1910).

Identitätsfindung im Wandel der Zeit

Nach von der Inflation ausgelösten finanziellen Schwierigkeiten und diversen Rettungsversuchen wurde das Haus 1929 schließlich als Neues Wiener Schauspielhaus neu eröffnet. Auf dem Spielplan standen unter anderem „leichte“ Operetten.

Im Zuge des zweiten Weltkrieges kam es wieder zu mehreren Umbenennungen. Und gegen Ende des Krieges, während des Spielverbots für sämtliche Theater, wurde die Volksoper für einige Monate zu Wiens zweitgrößtem Kino. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg war sie das Ausweichquartier für die zerstörte Wiener Staatsoper bis diese 1955 am Opernring wieder eröffnet wurde.

Ab 1955 war die Volksoper Wien schließlich endlich wieder ein selbständiges Musiktheater, in dem Opern, Operetten und Musicals gespielt wurden. Bis sie sich so richtig als Operettenhaus etablieren konnte, sollte es jedoch noch ein wenig dauern.

Das größte Operettenhaus der Welt

Die Volksoper Wien hatte definitiv mit ihrer Identitätsfindung zu kämpfen. Die häufigen Neubenennungen, Umorientierungen, Zweckentfremdungen und schnellen Direktionswechsel haben dem Haus in der Vergangenheit zu schaffen gemacht. Und natürlich ist der ewige Vergleich mit der „großen Schwester“, der Staatsoper, schwer zu vermeiden.

Umso beeindruckender ist es, dass sich das Haus am Alsergrund heute nicht nur als Wiens zweitgrößtestes Opernhaus, sondern vor allem auch als führendes Operettenhaus der Welt etabliert hat.

Diese starke Positionierung wäre wohl nicht ohne Robert Meyer möglich gewesen. Der Burgschauspieler hat seit 2007 die Direktion der Volksoper inne und hat sich von Beginn an darum bemüht, das Haus zu reformieren. Der neue Direktor legte ein Augenmerk auf die Aufwertung der Operette und schaffte es binnen seines ersten Jahres, Publikumsschichten zurückzugewinnen, die Auslastung zu erhöhen und die Einnahmen zu steigern. Als Publikumsmagnet steht Meyer auch immer wieder mal selbst auf der Bühne.

Kunterbuntes Programm für alle

Pro Spielzeit kommen in der Volksoper im Schnitt 300 Aufführungen von etwa 35 verschiedenen Produktionen auf die Bühne. Während das Hauptaugenmerk natürlich auf dem Genre der Operette liegt, stehen aber auch Opern, Musicals und Ballett auf dem Spielplan der Volksoper. Zudem wurde mit „Volksoper Spezial“ eine fünfte Sparte geschaffen. Darin finden sich Soireen, Kabarettistisches und Parodistisches.

Für Abwechslung und bunte Vielfalt ist in der Volksoper gesorgt: Heutzutage kann es leicht passieren, dass es an einem Tag Mozarts „Die Zauberflöte“ spielt und tags darauf das beliebte Musical „The Sound of Music“. Zu Silvester und am Neujahrstag wird traditionsgemäß und mit viel Publikumsbegeisterung Strauss’ Operettenklassiker „Die Fledermaus“ aufgeführt.

Das Stammpublikum greift zu diversen Abos und Zyklen. Darunter gibt es auch ein Familienzyklus mit speziellen Ermäßigungen für die ganze Familie, sowie ein Jugendwahlabo für alle unter 27.

Generell ist die Volksoper Wien sehr kinderfreundlich: von ermäßigten Karten bis hin zu speziellen Stücke für Kinder, wie etwa „Der Zauberer von Oz“ oder „Hänsel und Gretel“. Kinder können zudem bei Kinderworkshops und Kinderrätselvorstellungen interaktiv mitmachn oder dem Kinderchor und Jugendchor der Volksoper Wien beitreten. Ein vielfältiges Programm für Schulen, mit Probenbesuchen und Backstage-Führungen, rundet das Angebot ab.

Ob für WienerInnen oder Wien-BesucherInnen — die Volksoper Wien beweist einfach immer wieder, dass Wien auch qualitätsvolles Musiktheater abseits der großen Opernaufführungen in der Staatsoper zu bieten hat.

© Dimo Dimov/Volksoper Wien
© Dimo Dimov/Volksoper Wien
Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Wien
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Oder rufen Sie uns an!

Exklusiv
buchbar auf

 airbnb 

Newsletter abonnieren und
10 % Rabatt
auf die nächste Buchung erhalten!