Back
to website

Located only 10 minutes from the Grand Ferdinand, the Albertina Wien museum offers several permanent and temporary exhibitions. It’s the perfect destination for art fans to lose track of time on rainy days.

Savour Some Art at Albertina Wien

Located only 10 minutes from the Grand Ferdinand, the Albertina Wien museum offers several permanent and temporary exhibitions. It’s the perfect destination for art fans to lose track of time on rainy days.

The alarm rings, you stretch out in your king size bed and open your well-rested eyes. It’s deceptively dark outside, despite the late hour. So you chance a look out the window and find your hunch was correct: it’s indeed raining.

Vienna is not immune to rain, especially in spring. And on days like that, one could be tempted to stay in the comfort of a room at the Grand Ferdinand or enjoy the amenities of the hotel. Fortunately, Vienna has an almost limitless choice of weatherproof attractions that are worth getting up for.

Take your umbrella and head to Albertina

So hop out of bed and into the rain shower. And then, enjoy a fortifying Breakfast at the Grand Étage, the elegant rooftop restaurant at Grand Ferdinand, before deciding where to head afterwards.

One of the many options for a rainy day in Vienna is a visit to the Albertina Wien museum. Art enthusiasts will find it easy to spend hours there. And the best part is, it’s only a short walk from the Grand Ferdinand to the Palais Albertina.

Stroll down the famous Ring boulevard, turn right at the Vienna State Opera, and you’ll already see the splendid neoclassicist city palace. The walk won’t take longer than 10 minutes. Almost impossible to get wet in that time. But if you want to be sure you can always take the tram.

© Albertina, Wien (Foto: Rupert Steiner)

Albertina Wien: Created by art lovers for art lovers

Albertina Wien is one of the biggest and most valuable art collections worldwide. Originally, it was established as a collection of graphic art and named after Duke Herzog Albert von Sachsen-Teschen, Empress Maria Theresia’s son-in-law. Duke Albert and his wife, Archduchess Maria Christine, were both great fans of art and established the collection together.

Today, the Albertina offers a varied range of world-famous art in permanent art displays and temporary exhibitions. The collections contain works like Monet’s “Water Lilies”, Degas’ “Dancers” and Cezanne’s “Farm in Normandy”, but also art by Chagall, Picasso, Miró, Warhol, Schiele, Klimt und Kokoschka, to name just a few.

 

© Albertina, Wien. Sammlung Batliner

World-renowned “Collection Batliner”

A remarkable highlight at the Albertina is the “Collection Batliner”. It’s a permanent loan from the Liechtenstein Foundation of Rita and Herbert Batliner. The collection titled “From Monet to Picasso” is dedicated to the evolution from figurative to abstract art and is one of the most important collections in Europe with regards to classic modern art.

The collection Essl, one of the biggest private collections of contemporary art worldwide, is also on display at Albertina. In 2014, Albertina was entrusted with the more than 6,000 works of art in the collection.

Foto © Georg Molterer

Particularly impressive: DaVinci und Dürer

In addition to the photo and architecture collections, the collection of graphic art is incredibly impressive. It contains about 50,000 drawings and aquarelles, as well as approximately 900,000 printed works. They span time, from the late gothic era to the present.

Works by Leonardo da Vinci and even Dürer’s “Young Hare” are a part of this collection. Unfortunately, they’re only rarely displayed for the public due to conservation reasons, so it’s recommended to have a quick look at the Albertina website to find out which special pieces are on display right now.

On top of the already vast collections, Albertina Wien also has several temporary exhibitions, showing a great variety of styles, artist and media. Photography, paintings, drawings — the programme is extremely diverse.

One ticket covers all collections and exhibitions

The best part about visiting the Albertina museum is that with just one ticket, you can see all the exhibitions currently on display. The architecture of the building itself is always worth a look too: the Habsburg staterooms are open to the public — though, for conservation reasons, only in good weather.

A visit to Albertina Wien is always a great idea, regardless of how many hours you end up spending there. And if it’s still raining after your trip to the museum, you can always spend the rest of the day comfortably tucked away in an armchair at the Grand Étage of the Grand Ferdinand while enjoying a magnificent view over Vienna.

© Albertina, Wien
Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Vienna
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Or give us a call!

Exclusive
bookable on

 airbnb 

Subscribe now and get
10 % Discount
on your next booking!

Zurück
zur Website

Das nur 10 Minuten vom Grand Ferdinand entfernte Museum Albertina Wien bietet mehrere beständige Sammlungen, sowie wechselnde Ausstellungen, und lädt Kunstinteressierte auch an Regentagen zum Verweilen ein.

Ausgedehnter Kunstgenuss in der Albertina Wien

Das nur 10 Minuten vom Grand Ferdinand entfernte Museum Albertina Wien bietet mehrere beständige Sammlungen, sowie wechselnde Ausstellungen, und lädt Kunstinteressierte auch an Regentagen zum Verweilen ein.

Der Wecker läutet, man streckt sich im Kingsize-Bett und öffnet erholt die Augen. Draußen scheint es trotz der Uhrzeit verdächtig dunkel zu sein, und ein Blick aus dem Fenster bestätigt die erste Vermutung: es regnet.

Auch Wien ist, gerade im Frühling, vor Regentagen nicht gefeit. Natürlich ist da die Versuchung groß, sich im komfortablen Zimmer des Grand Ferdinand zu verschanzen oder den Tag zu verschlafen und in den Annehmlichkeiten des Hotels zu verbringen. Aber Wien hat zum Glück mehr als genug wetterunabhängige Unterhaltung zu bieten.

Mit dem Regenschirm in die Albertina

Also raus aus den Federn und ab in die Regendusche. Und dann stärkt man sich erstmal beim leckeren Frühstücksbuffet auf der Grand Étage, dem eleganten Rooftop-Restaurant des Grand Ferdinand und überlegt, wohin es heute gehen soll.

Eine der unendlichen Möglichkeiten der Stadt ist die Albertina Wien. Kunstinteressierte können hier locker Stunden verbringen. Und das Palais Albertina ist zudem wirklich nur einen Katzensprung vom Grand Ferdinand entfernt: raus aus dem Hotel, den Ring entlang, nach der Oper abbiegen, und schon steht man vor dem klassizistischen Prunkbau. Der Weg zu Fuß dauert keine 10 Minuten — es ist also kaum Zeit, dabei überhaupt nass zu werden. Wer aber auf Nummer sicher gehen will, nimmt einfach die Straßenbahn.

© Albertina, Wien (Foto: Rupert Steiner)

Albertina Wien: Von Kunstfans für Kunstfans

Die Albertina Wien zählt zu den größten und wertvollsten Kunstsammlungen der Welt. Ursprünglich wurde sie als „graphische Sammlung“ gegründet. Benannt ist sie nach Herzog Albert von Sachsen-Teschen, dem Schwiegersohn Maria Theresias. Herzog Albert und seine Frau, Erzherzogin Maria Christine, waren beide große Kunstfans und bauten die Sammlung gemeinsam auf.

Heute hat die Albertina vielseitige künstlerische Schwerpunkte und zeigt in ihren ständigen Sammlungen und wechselnden Ausstellungen eine große Anzahl an weltberühmten Kunstwerken. In den Sammlungen finden sich unter anderem Monets „Seerosenteich“, Degas’„Tänzerinnen“ und Renoirs „Mädchenbildnis“, sowie Werke von Chagall, Picasso, Miró, Warhol, Schiele, Klimt und Kokoschka, um nur einige wenige zu nennen.

 

© Albertina, Wien. Sammlung Batliner

Weltberühmte „Sammlung Batliner“

Ein besonderer Höhepunkt der Albertina ist die „Sammlung Batliner“, eine Dauerleihgabe der Liechtenstein’schen Stiftung von Rita und Herbert Batliner. Die „Monet bis Picasso“ betitelte Sammlung widmet sich der Entwicklung von der figurativen zur abstrakten Malerei und ist eine der wichtigsten Kollektionen Europas zur Malerei der Klassischen Moderne.

Auch die Sammlung Essl, eine der größten Privatsammlungen zeitgenössischer Kunst weltweit, gehört zur Albertina. Ihre mehr als 6.000 Werke wurden 2014 an die Albertina Wien übergeben.

Foto © Georg Molterer

 

Besonders beeindruckend: DaVinci und Dürer

Neben einer Fotosammlung und Architektursammlung ist vor allem die grafische Sammlung beeindruckend. Darin befinden sich rund 50.000 Zeichnungen und Aquarelle, sowie etwa 900.000 druckgrafische Arbeiten von der Spätgotik bis zur Gegenwart. Teil der Sammlung sind sogar Werke von Leonardo da Vinci oder auch Dürers „Feldhase“, die aus konservatorischen Gründen allerdings leider nur selten zu sehen sind. Es empfiehlt sich also ein Blick auf die Webseite der Albertina, um zu erfahren, welche Gustostückerl gerade zu sehen sind.

Abgesehen von den ohnehin schon weitreichenden Sammlungen imponiert die Albertina zudem mit interessanten wechselnde Ausstellungen, die eine Bandbreite an Stilen, Künstlern und Medien abdecken. Fotografie, Malerei, Zeichnungen — das Ausstellungsprogramm der Albertina ist abwechslungsreich.

Ein Ticket für alle Sammlungen und Ausstellungen

Wirklich toll ist auch, dass man mit nur einem Eintrittsticket für die Albertina gleich alle Ausstellungen des Hauses sehen kann. Und auch die Architektur selbst ist sehenswert: Die Habsburgische Prunkräume können ebenfalls besichtigt werden — aus Konservierungsgründen allerdings nur an Schönwettertagen.

Aber egal wie viele Stunden man schlussendlich im Museum verbringt, der Besuch in der Albertina ist auf jeden Fall eine hervorragende Idee. Und wenn es nach dem Kunst-Ausflug nach wie vor regnen sollte, dann kann man es sich für den Rest des Nachmittages ja immer noch in einem der Ohrensessel auf der Grand Étage des Grand Ferdinand gemütlich machen. Zum Kunst-Verdauen, quasi, und mit Panoramablick über Wien.

© Albertina, Wien
Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Wien
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Oder rufen Sie uns an!

Exklusiv
buchbar auf

 airbnb 

Schon das Neueste gehört?
Exklusiv für unsere Abonnenten gibt es die aktuellsten Neuigkeiten und besondere Angebote.
Höchste Zeit, sich unseren Newsletter holen!