Back
to website

A Blue Danube Waltz – Vienna, you most beautiful city of all

Oh how beautiful it is, New Year’s Eve in Vienna

A Blue Danube Waltz – Vienna, you most beautiful city of all

Those who are looking to dance the waltz on New Year’s Eve are best served doing it in the self-proclaimed world capital of the genre – Vienna. When the “Pummerin” – the largest bell in St.Stephen’s Cathedral – rings out, the Blue Danube starts playing from the streets and the stars above engage in a twinkling competition with the fireworks, distinguished men and women of the world know that they are in the right place at the right time.

 At the turn of the year, Vienna is a city full of possibilities. Obviously, the classics aren’t only metaphorically significant but doubly relevant when it’s here where they came from – the classical music of Austria. Snagging a ticket for the New Year’s Concert  is an exceptionally lucky break. Every year, this prestigious event is broadcast to over 90 countries – with 50 million mesmerized (or still slightly tipsy) viewers sat in front of their screens, allowing the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra to captivate them. That makes it all the more special to be one of the chosen few to witness these notes played live in the perfect acoustic environment. But getting tickets is not that easy – because they are so highly sought after, one must take part in a raffle on their website in order to gain access to the halls of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

Our dear Mr. Strauss and his Blue Danube Waltz

 Australia has its ostriches. Austria has Strauss. While they may sound similar, they are very different. When we talk about New Year’s Eve, we are definitely talking about Mr. Johann Strauss, no relation to the bird. One thing they do have in common are their songs, Mr. Strauss arguably had a lot more and managed to write one that is known to every Austrian: the world’s most famous waltz, bearing the title “The Blue Danube”. Nobody really knows precisely why, but this piece of music is synonymous with the turn of the year and an honourable dance is just as customary as a sparkling glass of champagne or a peck on the cheek. And so, the old year makes its swinging exit in three-four time as the first few minutes of the new one commenced. At no other time of the year are the hearts of Austrians beating more in unison. It is a piece of culture that also finds its reprise at the New Year’s Concert, as an encore to the main programme.

Grand_Ferdinand_Hotel_Blog_Silvester_tanzendes_Paar
@ WienTourismus / Peter Rigaud/Couture Vivienne Westwood Vienna

Do-it-Yourself New Year’s Eve

 However, there is still a plethora of alternative ways to spend the last night of the year in Vienna. At the Hofburg for example, the annual New Year’s Eve Ball will elegantly inaugurate the ball season and dance their traditional after-midnight quadrille. The New Year’s Eve Gala at the city hall also needs no introduction. In the ballroom, guests will be treated to operetta music and a multi-course meal. At midnight, people are invited to enjoy the view from the balcony over the city and the Ring Road – a magnificent feeling. Another option that night is the traditional New Year’s Eve run. It stretches around the Ring Road, passes by the Hofburg, the art – and natural history museums, the parliament, and all the other beautiful buildings. After these 5,3 kilometers, you’ll enter the New Year feeling fit. Those looking for more “rural” activities can make their way to Grinzing and enjoy a dinner and wine outing.

 New Year’s Eve at the Grand Ferdinand

Whatever it is that you’re looking forward to on New Year’s Eve, Grand Ferdinand has you in very good hands. As a starting point for activities – clear the ring! And should you prefer to stay at the hotel and indulge in the kitchen’s very own Gulasch & Söhne or the Schnitzel at Meissl & Schadn  or the view from our Grand Etage, the experience is guaranteed to be an unforgettable one.

 

Happy New Year!

Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Vienna
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Or give us a call!

Exclusive
bookable on

 airbnb 

Subscribe now and get
10 % Discount
on your next booking!

Zurück
zur Website

Ein Donauwalzer auf dich – Wien, du schönste aller Städte

Prosit Neujahr in Wien, nur du allein

Ein Donauwalzer auf dich – Wien, du schönste aller Städte

Wer zu Silvester walzen will, der tut dies am besten in der selbstgekürten Welthauptstadt dieses Genres – Wien. Wenn die Pummerin läutet und aus dem Äther „An der schönen blauen Donau“ über einem die Sterne mit dem Feuerwerk um die Wette glänzen, dann weiß Herr und Frau von Welt, dass man zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort ist.

Zum Jahreswechsel ist Wien eine Stadt voller Möglichkeiten. Natürlich spielen die Klassiker nicht nur im metaphorischen Sinne eine Rolle, sondern auch dort, wo sie hingehören und herkommen, nämlich in der Musik. Ein Ticket für das Neujahrskonzert zu bekommen macht einen zum ausgesprochenen Glückspilz. In 90 Ländern wird dieses prestigeträchtige Event übertragen – 50 Millionen Menschen sitzen gebannt (oder noch immer beschwipst) vor den Bildschirmen und lassen sich von den Wiener Philharmonikern verzaubern. Da ist es schon eine ganz besondere Sache, wenn man unter den Auserkorenen ist, die die Töne live und in perfekter Resonanz mitbekommen. Doch das ist gar nicht so leicht, denn, um sich Eintritt in die Hallen der Wiener Philharmoniker zu beschaffen, muss man bei einem Gewinnspiel auf der Website mitmachen, denn darum ist „ein Griss“.

Unser Strauss und sein Donauwalzer

Wenn wir im Zusammenhang mit Silvester von Strauss sprechen, dann meinen wir den mit Vornamen Johann. Ob der einen Vogel hatte, wissen wir nicht. Viele Noten hatte er auf jeden Fall und die hat er zu etwas zusammengebastelt, was jeder Österreicher kennt: Den berühmtesten Walzer mit dem Titel „An der schönen blauen Donau“. Warum, das weiß man nicht genau, aber dieses Musikstück wird hierzulande automatisch mit dem Jahreswechsel verbunden und ein Walzer in Ehren gehört ebenso zum guten Rutsch wie ein Glas sprudelnder Sekt oder das Küsschen. So wiegt die alte Kaiserzeit im Dreivierteltakt vor sich hin, während die ersten Minuten des neuen Jahres beginnen. Zu keinem anderen Zeitpunkt im Jahr schlagen die Herzen der Österreicher mehr im Gleichklang. Ein Stück Kultur, das auch zum Neujahrskonzert immer wieder kehrt, allerdings nicht im Hauptprogramm, sondern als Zugabe.

 

Grand_Ferdinand_Hotel_Blog_Silvester_tanzendes_Paar
@ WienTourismus / Peter Rigaud/Couture Vivienne Westwood Vienna

Silvester zum Selbermachen

Doch in Wien gibt es noch ein Meer an Möglichkeiten, den letzten Abend im Jahr zu verbringen. Ganz elegant geht es alljährlich in der Hofburg zu, wo die Ballsaison eröffnet wird und die traditionelle Quadrille nach Mitternacht am Plan steht. Der Silvestergala im Wiener Rathaus eilt auch ihr Ruf voraus. Im Festsaal wird bei Operettenmusik ein Mehrgängemenü serviert und zu Mitternacht kann dann vom Balkon auf die Stadt und die Ringstraße geschaut werden – richtig prächtig fühlt sich das an. Oder man nimmt am traditionellen Silvesterlauf teil. Der geht einmal um die Ringstraße, vorbei an Hofburg, Kunst- und Naturhistorischem Museum, Parlament und all den anderen schönen Gebäuden. 5,3 Kilometer lang kommt man schon fit im neuen Jahr an. Wer es etwas „ländlicher“ mag, der lädt sich selbst nach Grinzing ein, um dort ein Abendessen mit Weinbegleitung zu genießen.

Neujahr im Grand Ferdinand

Egal, auf was Sie sich beim Jahreswechsel freuen, im Grand Ferdinand sind Sie besonders gut aufgehoben. Als Ausgangspunkt für Unternehmungen – Ring frei! Und wenn Sie es vorziehen, einfach im Hotel zu bleiben und sich von der Küche des Gulasch & Söhne oder dem Schnitzel im Meissl & Schadn oder der Aussicht in unserer Grand Etage unterhalten zu lassen, dann ist das sicherlich ebenso unvergesslich.

Auf ein gutes Neues!

Grand_Ferdinand_Hotel_Blog_Silvester_Champagner
Schubertring 10-12, 1010 Wien
welcome@grandferdinand.com

Grand Ferdinand

+43 1 91 880

Meissl & Schadn

+43 1 90 212

Gulasch & Söhne

+43 1 91 880 500

Grand Étage

+43 1 91 880 920
Oder rufen Sie uns an!

Exklusiv
buchbar auf

 airbnb 

Schon das Neueste gehört?
Exklusiv für unsere Abonnenten gibt es die aktuellsten Neuigkeiten und besondere Angebote.
Höchste Zeit, sich unseren Newsletter holen!